Blog Post 5

Web based resources are great for a variety of different things. Web based learning can be used to interact with people all around the world and share. Software like “electa-live” serves as a virtual classroom software for teachers. https://www.e-lecta.com/Default.asp seems to be a great bit of software for virtual classrooms where you can share and teach from a remote location. A great use for this would be helping students prepare for a test or answer questions that they have so you can show them what it is you are doing.

The internet is the only way these days to do research. As stated in chapter 3, the internet is a growing network with a tremendous amount of information, but as you get older and as the internet has advanced we have realized that almost all information is currently online. Research online is useful almost always today, however if you do now know how to research or differentiate between good and bad sources you will fail at doing proper research.

Over the years, classes have assigned research papers that require primary and secondary sources. In addition I had to do an assignment for AP English in high school in which we found “accurate” Wikipedia pages vs. Non-accurate Wikipedia pages. This was a very interesting assignment as it made me realize that although Wikipedia is one website, each individual “topic” can be true or false, or have truths or lies in it. Knowing what I do now about research on the internet and how to best search for items to get exactly what you want using quotes, plus signs and other tricks, i find that a lot of the “primary” information requires logins, which can be a pain if you do not have access to them. As time goes on I hope that more information becomes free to the public so that anyone can learn about what it is that they want to learn about.

This weeks inspiration assignment was different. I have never worked in inspiration, however it was super simple to use and very intuitive which I think is important for teachers as they are going to always be busy and pressed for time. A simple software that helps them outline and create diagrams is a huge help to them and should be utilized more. It allows for the saving as a word document which gives an outline of the diagram which I feel like would’ve benefited me in some of the classes I took throughout my educational career. Below is a screenshot of my basic “history” lesson.

History Lesson Jpeg

Blogs I commented on:

https://klh13e.wordpress.com/2015/02/12/blog-post-5/comment-page-1/#comment-15

https://jmi13b.wordpress.com/2015/02/13/blog-5/comment-page-1/#comment-5

5 thoughts on “Blog Post 5

  1. I think it is interesting that you did that project back in high school deciphering between which wikipedia page is accurate or if it is fake. That has been something we have been taught all throughout school, to never trust wikipedia. But the fact that you went through and figured that out is cool to me. I really like your history assignment. You did a really good job on inspiration.

    Like

  2. I really like how your high school teacher had you find accurate and non-accurate wikipedia websites. Your always told not to trust it and I’ve had plenty of teachers tell me that I could not use it at all as a reference in papers. I think by letting you guys decide what is accurate and not helps you to better learn the difference rather than a teacher just repeatedly telling you to stay away from that website.

    Like

  3. I hate to be redundant, but that Wikipedia project is a great idea, and even in college, I see students use Wikipedia as a source for their projects. All students should have to do that to understand that not all websites are 100 percent reputable.

    Like

Leave a comment